Department of Economics

 

Giulio Seccia
PhD UCLouvain
Professor of Economics
Department Chair and Vice Dean for Research and Graduate Studies
Research Interests: applied theory, financial economics
Office: 8.231
Email: giulio.seccia@nu.edu.kz

Okan Yilankaya
PhD Northwestern University
Professor of Economics
Research Interests: microeconomic theory, game theory, information economics
Office: 8.116
Email: okan.yilankaya@nu.edu.kz
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/okanyilankaya/

Julio Dávila
PhD EHESS
Professor of Economics
Research Interests: economic theory, macroeconomics, growth
Office: 8.231
Email: julio.davila@nu.edu.kz
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/juliodavilaedu/

Dana Bazarkulova
PhD University of Manitoba
Assistant Professor of Economics
Research Interests: labor economics, household economics
Office: 8.507B
Email: dana.bazarkulova@nu.edu.kz

Maxim Goryunov
PhD CERGE-EI
Assistant Professor of Economics
Research Interests: labor economics, industrial organization
Office: 8.407/4
Email: maxim.goryunov@nu.edu.kz
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/maximgoryunov89/

Zhanna Kapsalyamova
PhD Christian Albrechts University of Kiel
Assistant Professor of Economics
Research Interests: computable general equilibrium modeling, applied econometrics, environmental economics
Office: 8.507B
Email: zhanna.kapsalyamova@nu.edu.kz

In Kyung Kim
PhD Indiana University
Assistant Professor of Economics
Research Interests: empirical industrial organization, applied econometrics
Office: 8.407
Email: in.kim@nu.edu.kz
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/kimik0121/

Irina Kirysheva
PhD European University Institute
Assistant Professor of Economics
Research Interests: applied microeconomics, game theory, experimental economics, social networks
Office: 8.419
Email: irina.kirysheva@nu.edu.kz

Vladyslav Nora
PhD UCLouvain
Assistant Professor of Economics
Research Interests: applied microeconomic theory, game theory, social networks
Office: 8.407
Email: vladyslav.nora@nu.edu.kz
Website: https://sites.google.com/view/vladnora/home

Iraj Rahmani
PhD Michigan State University
Assistant Professor of Economics
Research Interests: econometrics, development, education, health
Office: 8.407/3
Email: iraj.rahmani@nu.edu.kz

Galiya Sagyndykova
PhD University of Arizona
Assistant Professor of Economics
Research Interests: labor economics, economics of education, applied econometrics and microeconomics
Office: 8.507B
Email: galiya.sagyndykova@nu.edu.kz

Berk Yavuzoglu
PhD University of Wisconsin-Madison
Assistant Professor of Economics
Research Interests: labor economics, public economics, applied econometrics and microeconomics
Office: 8.419
Email: berk.yavuzoglu@nu.edu.kz
Website:  https://sites.google.com/a/nu.edu.kz/berkyavuzoglu/

Lara Cockx
PhD KU Leuven
Assistant Professor of Economics
Research Interests: development economics, applied microeconomics
Office: 8.214
Emaillara.cockx@nu.edu.kz
Website: https://sites.google.com/view/lara-cockx
Alejandro Melo Ponce
PhD Stony Brook University
Assistant Professor of Economics
Research Interests: economics of information, mechanism design, game theory
Office: 9.106
Email: alejandro.melo@nu.edu.kz
Website: https://alejandromeloponce.com/
Oleg Rubanov
PhD London Business School
Assistant Professor of Economics
Research Interests: economics of information, contract theory, political economy, game theory
Office: 9.106
Email: oleg.rubanov@nu.edu.kz
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/orubanov/

Xavier Mateos-Planas
PhD Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Visiting Professor of Economics
Research Interests: quantitative macroeconomics
Email: x.mateos-planas@qmul.ac.uk
Website: https://sites.google.com/view/xmateosplanas/

Luca Sala
PhD Universitè Libre de Bruxelles
Visiting Professor of Economics
Research Interests:  applied econometrics, monetary economics, dynamic macroeconomics, time series
Email: luca.sala@nu.edu.kz
Website: https://bit.ly/2FXlCtG